Jan. 16 is deadline to file for election

The filing period for candidates wishing to run in the April 3, 2018, general municipal election for seats on school, municipal and other public boards continues until 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 16.

Three two-year seats are coming open on both the City of Bakersfield and City of Gainesville boards. Two three-year terms are coming open on the Public Water Supply District No. 1 board in Theodosia. And two three-year positions are coming open on all five Ozark County school boards. Filing for each position may be done at the specific municipal, school or water district office. 

Township committeemen and committeewomen will also be elected in the primary, and filing is open for those candidates as well.  

Also, two three-year positions are coming open on the Ozark County Ambulance board: the District 3 seat currently held by Ray Peter and the District 6 seat currently held by Jim Brown. Candidates wishing to file for one of these positions or for township seats should do so at the Ozark County Clerk’s office. 

No terms are expiring on the county’s other public board, the Ozark County Health Department.


Primary election filing opens Feb. 27, 2018

The filing period for candidates wishing to run in the Aug. 7, 2018, primary election begins at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Feb. 27. These county offices are up for election in 2018: circuit judge, associate circuit judge, presiding county commissioner, county clerk, clerk of circuit court/recorder of deeds, county treasurer, prosecuting attorney and county collector. (This is an updated list of county offices that corrects the incomplete list published in last week’s Times.)

Candidates wishing to run for county offices in the Aug. 7 primary election should file in the county clerk’s office. Candidates who file for the primary election by 5 p.m. on the first day of filing, Feb. 27, will select a number by random drawing. “The random number drawn determines the candidate’s primary ballot placement. After the first day, candidates are placed on the ballot in the order of their filing,” according to the Missouri Secretary of State website. 

The filing period for the primary election continues until 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 27, 2018. For more information, call the clerk’s office at 679-3516.

State and federal offices to be voted on in the August primary also include the office of state auditor, currently held by Nicole Galloway; the U.S. Senate seat currently held by Claire McCaskill, the congressional District 8 seat currently held by Jason Smith; and the Missouri House of Representatives District 155 seat currently held by Lyle Rowland. Candidates wishing to file for state or federal positions should file with Missouri Secretary of State James Kirkpatrick in Jefferson City.

Ozark County Times

504 Third Steet
PO Box 188
Gainesville, MO 65655

Phone: (417) 679-4641
Fax: (417) 679-3423